kakoluri.com

Gypsy Chief Blog

kakoluri.com header image 2

McDonalds Flunks Spoof Test

February 14th, 2009 · No Comments · corporations

NYSE: MCD 3 Month Chart

NYSE: MCD 3 Month Chart

There is an Internet spoof going on. Do not fall for it. You get an email promising to add $200 to your account for filling out an eight question survey. As with email like this I turned on full message headers and forwarded it to spoof@mcdonalds.com. Two days later I got an unknown user message from the MAILER DAEMON. There is no email user at mcdonalds dot com known as spoof. Thinking this strange I logged on to McDonaldsto take a look. Buried deep within the site is a notice that McDonald’s is aware of this Internet spoof and is ‘investigating’ . This tells me that McDonald’s does not seek the public’s help in tracking down these criminals.

What Corporate Social Responsibility?

McDonald’s has zero corporate social responsibility for the spoof. This does not mean that they do not have a problem. By not enlisting the public’s help it seems to me that McDonald’s management exhibits a tone deafness to the real world we live in. It sure would not take much action for them to create an email user known as spoof to provide a place for the public to forward spoof emails.

Tracking Down Criminals

Win $200 With McDonald’s
Monday, February 9, 2009 6:31 AM
From McDonald`s Mon Feb 9 14:31:38 2009
Return-Path:
Authentication-Results: mta191.mail.mud.yahoo.com from=McDonalds.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=McDonalds.com; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 222.227.72.67 (EHLO ns.sjc-sendai.co.jp) (222.227.72.67) by mta191.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 09 Feb 2009 06:43:25 -0800
Received: from User (static-70-100-8-246.br1.blu.wv.frontiernet.net [70.100.8.246]) (authenticated) by ns.sjc-sendai.co.jp (8.11.6p2/8.11.6) with ESMTP id n19EfLa15109; Mon, 9 Feb 2009 23:41:21 +0900
Message-Id: <200902091441.n19EfLa15109@ns.sjc-sendai.co.jp>
From:
“McDonald`s”

This is a portion of the full message headers I got.
Here is the actual link. Note that it does not point to McDonalds.
To access the form please click the link below :
“nofollow” href=”http://paupas.com/McDonalds/index.htm” target=”_blank”>http://www.McDonalds.com/online.survey/index.html
Who are they? In any event, I hope someone shuts them down. Sorry to see that McDonalds does not seek our help.

AARP Weighs In
Here is a good story from AARP with some details of this and other scams.
AARP Scam Alert
There are several good links as well.
Posted by The GNUinator

Tags: ··

No Comments so far ↓

There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment